Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of knowing about events that happen around the world. If I were to agree or disagree, I would definitely agree on the importance of being updated on what is going on in the world. It is my firm belief that even when some of those events do not affect as personally speaking, it is indeed information we can use nowadays in different ways, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, we live in a world hyper-connected. By this, I mean that we (thanks to media) are able to know whatever is happening in the most remote area on this planet. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, I currently live in Amsterdam, however, I do see the importance of knowing what it is happening in Africa, for instance. As a result, I have learned about many problems that many children struggle to get an education, but now as I know the problem, I started to donate to support a child's education. It may not affect my daily life to know this, but it did generate a thought on me, that make me aware of the inequalities in the world.

Secondly, knowledge is power. Every time I go out with my friends, we end up talking about a great variety of topics and I feel surprised to hear some of their stories or points of view on different matters. What it strikes me the most, however, is that some things I would have never thought about it before and it makes me feel very left out of the conversation, because I literally have no clue what to say about it. Moreover, I think it is interesting to know about different subjects and build opinions on everything, even if those topics are not your particular area of expertise; you may want to have an idea.

It is certainly clear to see why I find very important to stay updated to any event that is happening in the world, you may end up tomorrow having a conversation, even with a stranger and you better be a little bit prepared on what to say, instead of not having arguments on that matter. In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that even the most unusual things can have at one point in our lives an effect on us.