Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of the importance that young people give to celebrities' opinions. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that nowadays young generations are overly concerned if a celebrity they follow has an opinion on any matter. It is my firm belief that new generations are very much influenced by what the celebrities they follow, think for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, we live in the era of social media. That is a great example of how young people follow so many artists or athletes because they see them as role models. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see youngsters can feel identified if one of their favorite artists says something that they resonate with it too. As a result, celebrities' opinions will be taken more into consideration if you are a young person, who (as almost everyone) have them on social media; whereas an old person is not very much up to date of all the new trends in the world, perhaps not even have social media, so these opinions are unlikely to be important for them.

Secondly, old people, of course, have some role models; but the times have changed a lot, to the extent that celebrities are now not in the least concerned about being more vocal. In the past, celebrities were particularly not very interested on talking about different issues. They did not involve that much with their fans. Drawing from my own experience, I see this as a very normal situation, I see celebrities commenting on political issues, feminist issues, etc; even if those fields are not related to them, they do speak up. Moreover, freedom of speech now have massively changed the way we can express in any circumstance. People are fearless to express their thoughts and young people especially want to hear what their favorite football player thinks about racism, as an example. We have started to follow celebrities not only because of why they're famous for, but also for what they think, say and wear. It is certainly clear to see why for young generations these opinions are taken in a more relevant way than for older generations.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that for young generations is more important celebrities' opinions.