Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is as important for older people to learn new things as it is for younger people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In this day and age, amounts of new methods of doing things are discovered and implemented almost every day. In this vein, some propose that it is as important for older people to keep with these changes and learn new things as it is for younger ones. However, I disagree with this opinion. From my view of point, there is no need for older ones to study the latest skills and knowledge not only at work but also in study and life.

First off, with the help of modern technology, the ways people work today have changed considerably. A wealth of new approaches related to modern technologies, like how to make a Powerpoint presentation fluently and proficiently using the software, has to be adopted by employees to boost their working efficiency. Otherwise, those who are not adept at these are more likely to be isolated from their peers. Thus, young people are supposed to keep with the latest trend to be accepted by their peers and secure their works. On the contrary, older ones no longer contribute to companies anymore, which is why they are not required to learn such changes.

Secondly, for most of older ones, going to schools is not a necessity, especially when they get retired. Thus, updating their knowledge is not indispensable. However, confronting with fierce competition, younger ones regard learning ability as a stepping stone to a brighter future. Accordingly, the young, who want to further their studies and apply for another university, are able to memorize what has been taught in classes almost every day. That is why young people get up early and learn new things every day, but older people only get up for exercise in the park.

At last, I am going to talk about the latest trend in fashion. There are instances when younger ones dress in an old fashion way, then they will be laughed by their peers, for they are out of fashion. Nevertheless, older ones never meet and worry about such a problem; instead, they kind of like the old-school way. Even if they are not in keeping with the latest trend in fashion, they will still be respected not only by their appearance but also their offspring. This is because no younger ones expect that the older one becomes fashionable. In this respect, being snapped in the latest trends of fashion is evidently more important for the younger generation.

To sum up, no matter at work, in the study and daily life, learning new things is apparently more influential for younger ones than it is to older ones. Thus, there is no good reason to say that keeping with the latest trend renders the same influences for these two groups of people.