High school teachers (teacher of students ages 14-18) spend most of the class time lecturing (speaking ) and doing teacher- led discussion while the students listen and take notes. However, this is not effective in preparing students for a future career in the modern workplace. Other propose that high school teachers spend more of the class time on students-led discussion and project-based activities that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas.

People usually attach great importance to high school education because it prepares students for their college education or even future career. Since different teaching methods would affect students in different ways, people naturally hope teachers adopt an appropriate way to teach teenagers (aged 14-18). In these days, we often hear people say that teachers should spend most of the class time lecturing, while students just listen and take notes, others think student-led discussion and project-based activities are more important. However, as far as I am concerned, teacher-led discussion and student-led discussion, complete each other by playing different yet indispensable parts in class.

Teacher-led classes will help students improve their studying efficiency, and more important, acquire learning skills. Teachers are experienced, so they can bring with students information not only written in the test book but also from their accumulated knowledge and specialized skills. By listening and taking notes, students will quickly find where they should pay attention to and save much time. By contrast, in the student-led discussion, students may focus on the textbook only and even do not know the key point, so it may take a lot of time to find the right direction. Also, teachers have been trained to teach individuals in different ways depending on their type. They can better help students learn in the way that is best for each student. Being advised by teachers in terms of their own situation, students can form their own studying style. They, therefore, are very likely to learn more quickly, for they keep their teachers' advice and skills in mind. It is quite obvious that teacher-led discussion has the strength that student-led discussion does not has, and it is indispensable for high school students.

Although teacher-led discussion enjoys many advantages, student-led discussion and project-based activity are also irreplaceable for they can teach students how to think and increase their self-knowledge. In the traditional teacher-led class, students spend most of the class time listening and taking notes. They lack chances to express their own opinions. Sometimes, they even stop thinking since they passively accept what the teachers talk about. By contrast, when in the student-led discussion, students become a "positive learner." The discussion dominated by students would provide them opportunities to view the issue from different perspectives, put forward their opinions positively, and then uptake others' views. This process is conducive to their comprehensive understanding of a subject. In this circumstance, they are more likely to know how to put forward an informed idea by weighing different factors. What is more, students would increase their self-knowledge by engaging in various project-based activities or playing different roles in student-led discussion. They can then realize their weaknesses and strengthens. They, thus, are able to make more informed choices in deciding what they want to study or which job to take in the future. The merits of the student-led discussion make them a perfect choice on many occasions when the teacher-led discussion is not suitable, and the lack of it in high school education is unthinkable.

Since teacher-led discussion and student-led discussion cannot replace each other while both indispensable to high school students, it would be illogical to claim that anyone is better than the other does.