Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When starting a new job, our ability to adapt to a new environment is more important than our excellent knowledge for the job.

People today find it harder to start a new job, and different people adopt distinctive strategies. Some value the ability to adapt to a new environment more than our excellent knowledge for the job. However, I do not think it always right. Since these two kinds of qualities are all indispensable as starting a new job, we cannot say that one is always superior to the other.

First of all, the solid knowledge associated with the job is irreplaceable, for it is the primary reason why a company recruits us. In other words, as we hunt for a job, we need to showcase an excellent understanding of the job to the human resource managers before being hired. Every company today tends to hire people competent enough to make a contribution, which is why having solid knowledge for the job will be a huge advantage. Also, having excellent knowledge about the job contributes to adaptation to a new company. Sound knowledge for the job usually equals the ability to solve problems that others cannot tackle. Thus we have more possibilities to stand out. If we actually have excellent knowledge of the job, coworkers in the companies will admire us because of that. Of course, this will offer more opportunities to make more friends. As a result, we are more likely to fit into the new environment more quickly.

At the beginning of a new job, being able to adapt to a new environment means that we are capable of establishing a good relationship with others in a short time. This quality evidently is important because no matter how well we do our jobs, we still need cooperation from others. Better adaptive capacity enables us soon to get support from others when we are in need. Besides, being capable of adapting to the new environment makes us learn more from the job. Since we can establish a good relationship with others, these people may become our close friends. A lot of them may even become our mentors or trainers voluntarily. They are willing to share their experiences related to jobs with us. They also will teach us whatever they know. On these occasions, we are more likely to have excellent knowledge of the job.

Since adaptability and excellent knowledge are indispensable but promote each other, it is illogical to claim that each one is more important than the other.