Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Undeniably, there exist many criteria that can positively or negatively affect people's performance in a workplace. In this vein, the working hours and the number of days people have to spend on their job is of significant attention. For some people working five days a week for shorter hour can be more pleasant; however, for me it is more preferential to work only three days a week for long hours. The reasons, including but not limited to the following, can substantiate my viewpoint.

To begin with, being under stress and pressure of working only three days for longer hour can make the person more efficiently. To be more specific, contrary to many people who believe that working longer hours only in three days can exhaust people, it is taken for granted that it can be more efficacious. In other words, when people are under pressure, their mind becomes more active and can concentrate better on what they are doing, as a result of which the job can be accomplished with a better productivity. Not to mention the fact that when people work only for three days, it means that they can be for themselves for the rest of the week, making their mind even more active and fresh. This situation cannot happen in case where people have to work five days a week even with shorter working time. For instance, my sister was a teacher for five grades student and she had to be at school five days a week, for only two hours. When she came back home, she was surprisingly tired and it seemed as though she had worked for ten hours. After a while, the school policy was changed and teachers had to work only for three days instead of the whole weekdays. When she was under a lot of pressure and stress of limited working day, she seemed to be more fresh and productive. There was no signs of lethargy or exhaustion.

The next reason in line is that when a person works for three hours, more time will be provided for him or her to enjoy his or her private life or does other activities. To put it in other words, working for five days a week even with shorter hours means that the person should always be on the rush of doing something and cannot have free time to focus on his or her personal life. However, although the person will be under more pressure when working longer hours for three days, more freedom will be provided to enjoy the life or the person can do other activities as well. For instance, I am a language teacher and I used to work all week and I had some classes in one day and only one class in another day. It was really excruciating for me simply because I could not do whatever I wanted to do. I could not go out with my friends for two or three days because I had classes, I could not go out shopping, and I could not study and have some quality time of mine. This issue did not last until I decided to reschedule and arrange all my classes only on three days. Although at first it was really awful working long hours, I felt much better having some time for myself.

To recap, taking the above-mentioned reason and examples into account, it is more enjoyable for me to work three days for longer hours. Not only is it more mind refreshing, but it also provides me with a better chance to concentrate on my own life.