Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Regarding the best way to get information for media, answers can vary considerably from individual to individual. Some people think that it is better to obtain the information whose views are similar to themselves, while others believe that acquiring the information on converse side is more critical. As far as I am concerned, my experience leads me to conclude that the later is more convincing, and I will explain why I stand the viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, only read the information that proposed by those whose opinions are similar to us causes the problem of echo chambers. Even though people might consider it can reinforce their positions on the issue, it truly restricts their vision and makes you easily be cheated, instead. Take my experience for example, I have the strong belief toward gender equality. In the past, I only absorbed the information that fit my position. Once I was raged by a fake which claims the government might pass a law that would damage the women's right. However, the news turned out to be the fake news subsequently, and I was almost accidently deceived by it, becoming an unreasonalble furious voter. As a citizen living in democracy country, I consider that we all have the duty to avoid the same thing occurs.

On the other hands, obtaining diverse information benefits people a lot. First of all, it expands the horizon from every aspect. As long as you realize the people on opposite position have their reasons, you are able to think the issue more deeply, widely, and thoroughly. Furthermore, people might learn additional knowledge on the process of looking for different information if you long to understand the reason why they hold this belief. For instance, I am a believer on anti-nuclear-power. Yet, when I wanted to look for the information on supporting the nuclear plant to debate with others, I actually got a lot of knowledge about the potential benefits on the nuclear. Even though my position still remains, I have to admit that I learned a lot from the counter side.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that absorbing the information on the other side is more important that grabbing information on the same side. It is to avoid the issue of echo chamber and to receive the information on every aspect. Hence, I believe I have substantiated reasons to support my point of view.