Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the advent of technology, marketing has become an important part of our life. Many manufacturers use advertisements on TV or social media to sell their products. In this regard, there are arguments. While many people believe advertisements are honest to customers and introduce commodities as they are, others think they show the products better than they really are. I, personally, am of the second opinion. I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, advertisements have a main purpose: to sell the products and make money for the companies and producers with whom they have signed a contract. They do not care about customers as they are not paid by them to honestly introduce commodities. Advertisements are in line with goals of who pays for them to help sell their products, so they do everything to make profit, even with alluring gullible people by illusive and seducing images or exaggerating the advantages of a merchandise. For example, they use a light angle to show the product's colour more brilliant or modify its size to convince consumer purchase that advertised product.This is why advertisements cannot be absolutely honest with people: if they show drawbacks of things they are advertising, they will sow the seeds of their own downfall, and no company would be interested to sign a contract with them.

The second reason to defy this notion is that to grab more eyeballs, advertisements have to be attractive. To be more specific, beauty is one of the most important reasons for attracting people's attention. People, most of the time, look at advertisements without the intention of purchasing. They do follow advertisements just because they are colourful, exciting and use provocative images, attractive celebrities and attention grabbing words. For example, people look at the beautiful billboards more than ones with no interesting colour or beauty in its creation. Most people, especially those who do not have the intention of purchasing a product, do not care about their reality, they just unconsciously find themselves looking at a beautiful picture of a newly launched car in the market. So, It would not be unfair if one says that advertisement is tantamount to exaggeration. This is mainly because if they were boring, realistic and not desirable, they would not be noticed by viewers.

To wrap it up, advertisements give an ideal and unrealistic image of merchandise. Because they have to do this to attract companies to work with them, and they have to be attractive to get their desired attention.