Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everything can be a double edged weapon with both advantages and disadvantages. Some people see that TV has more negative consequences on youth more than positive ones. For me, I agree with those people that the harm caused by movies and TV can override their benefits for young people and in this essay I will discuss my reasons for that support.

First of all, TV can cause bad consequences on the health of young people as watching TV and movies too much may harm their eyes as well as affecting their mental and psychological health. Young people are too vulnerable, they are easily affected by what they are watching. For example, when the kids watch violence scenes in a movie, this makes them unconsciously nervous all the time, shout and hit others in discussions. They may also try to imitate the behaviors of the actors in the movie, so they can harm themselves.

Secondly, relations between the young people and their families can be also affected negatively by TV. As TV always shows very attractive and interesting movies and programs all the time, this makes the young people like slaves to it, spending most of their free time in front of TV rather than sitting with their parents and siblings. One study about the effect of TV on our kids performed on a group of young people between 10 and 18 years showed how the TV lead to separation between family memebers and broke the relations.

Lastly, TV also can waste their time. Instead of sitting for studying or doing their homework, they keep sitting in front of it watching its attractive programs. This will have negative results on their studies and their career in the future. For instance, last year, my child was spending about 5 hours of the day watching TV, so his academic scores decreased significantly more than before.

In the summary and to conclude my point of view, TV and movies can be beneficial and harmful at the same time, but the bad consequences are more than the positive consequences. The harm it does can extend to include their health, their relations with their families and also their career in the future.