Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated era in which we are living movies and television are playing important roles in our lives. There has been a controversial debate among intellectuals as to whether the negative effects of media are more than its positive effects. From my perspective, movies have destructive impacts on people especially juveniles, and two reasons to support my view point are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, media will gradually change some moral principles and disciplines and make people to accept changes which are destructive. It is not a secret to anyone that people living in today's world are familiar with different aspects of technology and young people are interested in watching different movies in order to spend their leisure time. Obviously, spending a huge amount of time doing the same activity, youth will be influenced by the concepts presenting by movies, which are usually wrong and bad information, so people's opinions and believes will alter and be replaced by movies' point of views. To put it in more vivid picture, my younger sister was obsessed with watching TV all the rime. When she was in high school, her favorite movie was about a girl who was rude and slothful; having watched such a movie, my sister turned into impolite and lazy person, who did not care about other people except herself. Had my sister not watched the movie, she would not have had such a weird personality. As you can see, since young people are being influenced quickly by media and TV presents wrong and negative concepts, juveniles and young people are more likely to have different personalities.

Furthermore, movies that are being shown On TV damage people's mental health. It is crystal clear that story in every movie is not usually real and the majority of movies are science-fiction movies or fantastic ones. These kinds of movies increase the expectations of young individuals since they will try to be like characters of amazing movies, but when they cannot reach to the goal, they will have definitely some problems since they cannot be satisfied with themselves, so society will be full of people not having enough confidence and self-esteem. There is an example to illustrate this claim; we are witnessing that actors in movies are so beautiful and handsome. They are so complete and great that makes other juveniles not to have good confidence since they do not see themselves as powerful and pretty as them, which proving some health problems like depression. No longer do individuals try to change their appearance by harmful surgeries and different operations, unfortunately they can be satisfied because they should solve the root cause of their problems which is depression or other kinds of mental problems.

In sum, having aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I do agree that the disadvantages of movies and media outweigh their advantages. Not only do people's important moral principles change, they also have difficulty being happy.