Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Media has strong impacts on our lives. It is observed that numerous youngsters spend a significant amount of their time watching televisions. Although some people are for the opinion that televisions positive effects cover the negetives, some believe that they adversly affect our lives. I personally, agree with the latter idea.

There are some reasons for this claim, which I will elaborate on, through the following paragraphs.

Firstly, watching television is extremely time-consuming. Right after your favorite show on the television ends, another show starts and even though you were not planning to watch that, particular show effects will influence on your ability to control your inclinations. Therefore, you may end up watching television for hours each day. Take a personal experience as an example. I can recall a day before one of my exams when I promised myself to just watch my favorite movie on the television and after that focus on my studying. However, unfortunately, immediately after that movie ended, a show which I was looking forward to watching for a long time started and I could not miss that. With all these explanations, it can be easily said that sticking to your schedule and controlling your time which is crucial for youngsters with various responsibilities, is tremendously difficult when it comes to watching TV shows.

Secondly, we should consider the alternatives and how the time allocated to televisions can be used more usefully. It is widely accepted among psychologists that books are great substitutes for movies. According to what they say, watching television has harmful effects on the brain and also negatively affect people's behaviors. In contrast reading books functions certain parts of the brain that no other activities do. For instance, my mother was an advokate of reading, during her childhood. However, my aunt was a fan of TV shows and used to watch television for hours during the day. Now, the consequences of these two different activities are obvious in my mother's and my aunt's behaviors. While my mother has a lot of information on different topics and an attractive way of talking, my aunt is somehow a hollow person.

In summation, young people should value their time and spend this valuable gift on activities like reading rather than watching televisions. Later in their lives, they will see the positive effects of their accurate decision. Therefore, I firmly suggest that everybody restrict the time they spend watching television.