Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Depending on personal experience, some people conclude that the negative effects of movies and television overwhelm their benefits meanwhile others hold the opposite idea. From my point of view, it is more reasonable to support the latter one.

Admittedly, movies and television have some negative effects on the way young people behave. If the young people are addicted to movies or televisions, they will spend less time on exercise, which will cause them obesity. Moreover, overuses of eyes will cause short sight. What’s worse, youngster may stay at home for long time and lose the opportunity to take part in the extracurricular activities so that they cannot feel the real world and the fun shared with their peers.

However, movies and television have more positive effect. The first reason immediately comes to mind is that movies and television have long been regarded as a tool to disseminate information and knowledge. Take television as instance, people watch news to know what happened near them and to know what happened in the country or around the world. In addition, children usually gain more knowledge through watching science and education program such as Animal World or National Geography, etc. It’s not hard to see that movies and television are positive or even vital.

Another reason which deserves some words here advocating my attitude is that entertainment media is also a kind of entertainment. After long time studying or working, watching a good movie or TV show can relax our mind because it gives us a chance to escape from the stresses that often consume our thoughts. When we are immersed in a movie or television show, we often 'lose ourselves' and are distracted from the worries and stresses that typically fill our minds.

All in all, despite a few cases of negative influence, I believe that the overall impact of television and movies is positive.