TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Depending on personal experience and the circumstance people lived, some one consider that government need to spend money to improve Internet access meanwhile others hold the entirely different idea which government should pay more attention to public transportation. From my point of view, it can’t draw a conclusion in haste, the decision of finance should depends on the real condition of the country, developed or developing.

For one thing, to a developed country with perfect infrastructure, government usually pay more money for developing relatively high level facilities such as Internet access. With no doubt that better Internet provides more convenient life style. For example, with the development of Internet, students can seek for useful materials everywhere by many kinds of approach, businessman can receive the first-hand information, people can book the ticket of plane or train and make a reservation in advance so that they will avoid many unnecessary troubles.

However, in a developing country, the development of infrastructure is always at the forefront of leader’s mind. Transport infrastructure is one of the most important factors for a country's progress. High density transport infrastructure and highly connected networks are commonly associated with high levels of development. When transport systems are efficient, they provide economic and social opportunities and benefits that result in positive multipliers effects such as better accessibility to markets, employment and additional investments. For example, China, the biggest developing nation with over a billion population. Compared to the west of China, eastern China is more developed because of high level of transportation. It’s more attractive for worker to find job, for investor to input their capital.

In conclusion, why do I disagree with the statement that it is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation? With the perfect facilities, it’s more sensible for developed country to emphasize the improvement of Internet access. Nevertheless, developing country need to spend more money on construction of infrastructure because of relatively poor condition.