TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there is a statement that state funding should incline to the arts rather than the athletics such as Olympic team and it is intensely disrupted. Someone support this statement because the charm of art raises one's sentiment and exhibits the intelligence and wisdom of a nation. Other people doubt it in terms of athletics also has many advantages such as improve national physique. From my point of view, the government shouldn't pay attention to only one side.

First of all, I want to talk about why should the government spend money on athletics. On the one hand, with the increasing input from national finance, more and more people will come into contact with this domain. Pretty obviously, some people who have never touch upon the athletics may find their talent on it and keep practicing. At last, they may be a high level athlete. On the other hand, because of state's guidance and funding, athletics will be more and more systematic. For instance, the retired sportsman can be a coach to guide the next generation in terms of how to improve their technique, how to overcome the difficulties and sufferings with their diligence, perseverance and strong belief. Anyway, the country will keep sustained development with strong and healthy people.

And then, in contrast to athletics,arts is also important as I have ever said that art can raise one's sentiment. People can also express their feelings or minds through the form of art. Except for this, art exhibits the natural beauty, culture and characteristics of a nation, too.

At last but not least, I think people shouldn't have the bias on each domain of the society nowadays. To a country, every positive fields are vital and necessary and have their meaning of existence. It is the best not to neglect each field, therefore, arts, athletics and other domains which haven't been talked here should be seemed as equal status.