Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don t know for example by giving clothing and food to people who need them than they were in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support y

From the ancient times to the present das all the people living on this planet have never been equally weathly. Personally, I strongly believe that nowadays people are more motivated to help other people who lack the absolute necessities than they were in the past. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, every and each one of us has noticed that throughout the last decade the actions for helping the ones in need have multiplied tenfold. In other words, more and more people take the initiative to encouge the others to contribute to this specific cause. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years ago, when I was still in elementary school, I recall that, even though it was the year when a severe economic crisis broke out, there were no events organized in my city in order to gather clothes and food for the people who had become homeless or had lost their jobs. On the other hand, when I was in my final year of high school, I noticed that many different actions of this kind took place. Even my school took part in collecting products which were sent to help the refugees survive, because the government alone was unable to provide them with enough food.

Secondly, in the past many people were unaware of the fact that many people in foreign counties lack things, such as food and clothes, which are essential to ensure their survival. To be more specific, with the advent of the television, it was made easier to raise the awareness and transmit messages to a wider audience. For instance, in the beginning of the century, people solely knew what was happening in the place they lived, for example in their village or in their city. In contrast, when television started braodcasting news from all over the world, people learned about the problems that people in other counties encounter in their everyday lives. As a result, they started to feel more encouraged to help these people as now they are no longer ignorant of the immense hardship they face.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people are now more willing to help the ones in need. This is because not only more events are being organized for aiding these people, but a vast number of people have only recenltly acknowledged the fact that many people need their assistance.