Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Adulthood is not an easy stage in people's life, it needs high qualifications to be able to go through it. One of this qualifications is being responsible which can be achieved by work and having a career. For me, I agree that teenagers and young adults should start a part-time job besides their studies.

First of all, when adolescents take a job in early stage, they learn to be responsible on many facets. They will be partially dependent on themselves rather than their parents and take the responsibility of themselves and people around them as well. For instance, my brother started working in a shop as a cashier during his years of high school and iniversity. His personality became better than before and enriched, so I feel that I can greatly depend on him and always ask for his opinion and support. They also can determine which career they want to start in the future

Second, taking a part-time job in this young age teaches them how to communicate with people. Communication is a skill of a paramount importance to engage with people in general and with co-workers particularly. For instance, many adults can not deal with each other and this may lead to misunderstanding or miscommunication. Besides, they can not reach their goals or understand others' needs. For that reason, learning this skill is very significant to facilitate dealing with different personalites.

lastly, another benefit of taking a job besides studying their lessons and attending school, is that they gain money from work. Although the salary may not be high, but it can be enough to help them take courses to acquire more skills in computer science and leadership as well. From my personal experience, when I was at the university, I started working as a medical writer in an online medical journal and earned money as well as expertise in this field. I could save money that I use it now to buy raw materials for my masters degree.

In the summary, part-time job for teenagers is an exquisite opportunity for them to learn many skills, enrich their personality and gain money.