Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents should encourage their children to do their homework independently rather than help them to do it.

Parents are the most influential individual for their own child. They will inevitably play a major role during child’s education. Therefore, the question of whether parents should encourage their children to do their homework independently or help them to do it has long been a topic of controversy among parents and different circles. On the one hand there are parents who believe that assisting children to do their homework increase their knowledge and save their time and on the other hand, others adopt negative attitude since they believe it has further merits. Personally, I came down on the side of latter case since it can not only help children to become an independent person but also increase the effectiveness of education.

The effectiveness of education drastically increases for several reasons. In fact, independently working on homework forces children to put in use their talents and skills to cope with their problems. Therefore, even if they obtain wrong answer, they have learned how to observe different problems form different prospective upon their capacities and abilities. Furthermore, when they correctly do their homework, they will never forget the strategy behind that particular homework. For example, I remember that I couldn't multiply numbers when I was at third grade, but I worked on it for one week and finally could learn how to do and then, I always got A in math. Consequently, education will be more expeditious in such case.

Being independent in doing homework leads into being independent in other sides of life. In fact, children will also learn to do their personal responsibilities and they even will assist their parents in household chores. Furthermore, Children will learn how to financially be independent person by growing up as an adult. Besides, they also figure out that parents cannot always support them and they should cope with their issues by their own. In other words, they learn how to be independent in real life. As far as I am personally concerned, I remember that my father always told me that “if you want to be a real man you should be independent”, therefore, he never helped me doing my homework. Subsequently, doing homework independently teach children how good is the sense of in-dependency.

To wrap it up, parent shouldn't be involved in their children homework since they not only deprive them of learning how to be independent but also grow up as a mal-educated person. I think that parent should indirectly control their children and give them their advice in critical situations.