Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The presence of factories near residential zones is a very controversial topic in modern society. Some people may think that it would lead to critical issues related to environment and society. Personally, I would firmly support the construction of a factory near my hometown. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, my community desperately needs the job that the factories would provide. I live in an economically disadvantaged region which has suffered from high rates of unemployment and poverty for more than thirty years and the locals were eager to get the issue addressed. Moreover, this has had some very severe effects on the region, including high rates of poverty and homelessness as well as crime, let alone the outdated infrastructure. This reminds me of my brother’s situation. He lives in the same county as I do, but in the different city. Several years ago, a cellphone manufacturer has erected a plant in the suburb of the city, some people hold the opinion that the construction of the factory are at the expanse of the environment and individual’s health. The majority of the locals, however, think that it is an acceptable trade-off for the declines in crime and poverty in that they get a good job which pay them a decent salary and live a reliable life, which outweigh the side effects of the construction of the industry.

Secondly, modern technologies are not bad as some people assume. For example, here in Canada, the industries come equipped with advanced technologies that removes the most dangerous chemicals before the regular emissions. Plus, the local municipal government has released a wide variety of regulation about the rules of discharge of toxic gas. All of which can reduce the pollution in terms of air and water, as well as alleviate the concern locals have when they think about the construction of factories. Moreover, the government will allocate a great deal of capitals to mitigate the issues brought about by the factory, to be specific, the traffic officials can take the advantage of the funds to improve the public transportation to reduce the release of the polluted gas. Not only this action can offer more convenience to locals, but also alleviate the traffic congestion occurred during the rush hours.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a factory would be a wonderful addition to my community, This is because it would create a lot of employment, and because the industry plants are not as dirty as people think. Compared with the side effects, people will benefit more from the construction of the factories.