Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? in the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them: today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives, use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The relationship between the children and parents possess a great role on the personality of the kids; if children are grown up in a close link with their parents the impact factor of parents on the kids will be high. The prompt asks about the dependency of young children on their parents for decision making, in nowadays and past. In my perspective, the current youth are more independent in this aspect and make their own decisions. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to standpoint; I would list the most conspicuous ones in what follows.

The first striking reason which should be highlighted is the financial dependency of past young children on their parents. Indeed, according to the noteworthy intelligent study conducted in my country, thirty years ago, approximate seventy-five percent of young boys after the age of 15 started to work in their dads' vocations, to learn how to handle their fathered occupation in the future. The purpose of this action was mastering whole details required for continuing of the fathered job. As the young generation works for father or even grandfather; they depend on the father for money. This dependency caused the kids to be more obeyable of the fathers' decision and advises. However, in the current generation, most youths select the field of study and job according to their tendency and wish, and this situation has weakened the previous link existed between the parents and kids. Therefore, nowadays, kids are freer to make their own decision.

Another equally noteworthy reason which should be considered is the difference in family structure in the past and modern time. Meanwhile, in the past, a grandparent with their children and grandchildren live in the same house; in the current time, on the other hand, there are small, nucleus family which contains parents with one or two kids who after their adulthood, initiate to live lonely. This is lucidly obvious that this variation of family structure has altered the kids’ dependency on the parents for making the decision. A lucid example which shed the spotlight on the issue is my parents’ instance. My parents after their marriage had lived in my grandparents’ house for ten years, and since my grandfather had some roles in the home; they had to accept and obey them. For instance, the whole family member should have a meal at the same time in the same table. In this condition, my older brother, who was a kid at that time had to bear his hunger, until my grandfather and father came home. In this restricted condition, it is explicit that, there was no chance to decide according to your own wish. On the contrary, in modern time, small families are more flexible and let the kids experience the sense of freedom and making the decision individually.

The final crucial reason which should be mentioned here is the inadequacy of parents' knowledge about the current situation. In another word, nowadays, for the sake of scientific superfast enhancement in the various fields, it is impossible to catch its speed. However, the young generation is more updated about these events in comparison with their parents. In this case, the parents cannot provide a suitable solution which matches with the latest issues. Thus, the kids with their comprehensive understanding make their own decision.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons explicitly illustrate that the current generation is freer about decision making. Since they are financially independent, live separately; in addition, they possess the most updated knowledge about the events.