Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, today, the ability of young people in making good decisions about their lives is much better rather than the past. It is because they can practice decision making from their childhood by having more liberal parents rather than the past. Moreover, today, more social interactions lead young people to make better decisions. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, today, parents are more liberal rather than the past. As a result, they let their children make their decisions in a lot of cases, which are related to them. On the contrary, parents didn’t let children make their decisions in the past and they did this job by themselves. One simple example to illustrate this concept is choosing and buying children’s clothes. In the past, their clothes were chosen by parents, not by the children themselves. Parents went to stores and bought clothes for their children according to their taste. By contrast, nowadays, parents let children choose their cloth themselves. Thus, they can practice decision making from the early years of their life. As a result, they can improve themselves in decision making by time passage and accomplish making more important decisions in the later years through these practices.

Second, having more friends and more social interactions can help young people to make better decisions. In the past, social interactions were limited to families, neighbors, and close friends. However, today, you can make friends through social networks as many as you want. You can choose your friend according to his career or specialty by these means. Moreover, you can easily consult them to make better decisions because they are more available rather than the past. It will be practical just by taking your phone or opening your laptop and sending them an e-mail. Once, I was suspicious about enrolling in a drawing class, which was related to my career. To solve the problem, I send an e-mail to all of my social friends, who had the same career. When they sent their opinion to me, I found out most of them agreed with enrolling in that class. Thus, I made my decision and enrolled in it. After several months, I realized that enrolling in that class improved my ability in my career and I could do my best. Hence, having more friends in social networks and gaining their advices can help young people to make better decisions than before.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that today, young people can make much better decisions rather than before.