Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The debate on whether youngsters these days are self decision-making more than young people in the past has garnered a range of views. Nowadays, people should take into consideration the constructive and destructive facets of this issue. Some people posit that today young people are more independent and more capable to decide by themselves than youngsters in the past. However, others take the opposite side and disagree. From my vantage point, I agree with the former group. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite to be considered is that the personality of children has changed noticeably. In a narrow condition, children have become more independent with a high level of self-esteem. Youngsters now are seeing themselves as capable leaders who make huge contributions to the globe. They are creating technologies to help communities, advocating for greater justice and making a difference in the lives of millions. A vivid example that can shed light on this subject is one from my experience. When my mother was a child, she could not choose the study major that she wanted to study at university without asking her father. On the other hand, after I graduated from secondary school, I could select the university and the subject that I always wanted to study.

Second, another reason which deserves some words to say is that parents and school today teach young people how to make decisions and choices in their lives. To be specific, decision-making is a pivotal skill that a child needs to have a better and brighter future. Fortunately, parents and teachers are very aware of the importance of this skill. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my experience. During my time in secondary school, teachers gave students a special course on how to become a leader and how to make the right choice and decision in life. This course had a positive impact on my personality and on my ability to decide easily without asking my parents.

Considering the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that young people today are more capable to make a decision about their own lives than young people in the past.