Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them. Today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although it is a difficult question to answer because it depends on generations, societies, and cultures, but I totally agree with that statement and I believe that young people in the past depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, but today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. I hold this view because of several reasons.

Firstly, in such fast-paced modernized societies, by developing technology, people used to adapt themselves to new and modern facilities to make decisions rather than relying on traditional methods such as consulting to parents and depending on them. In other words, people nowadays prefer to make their crucial decisions by reckoning on scientific and knowlegeable approaches and identify their future career by themselves, since, people in the past tended to use their parents ideas when they determined to make decisions and they were mostly dependent on other people. Although consulting with parents and connoisseurs are beneficial method, but it does not necessarily lead to a secure result.

Secondly, it seems to me that making decisions independently is better than relying on other's opinion and pay attention to them merely, because if someone decide to do something based on only his interests and aspects, if he does not succeed, he will blame on only himself not others. For instance, when I was 15, I decided to choose mathematics as my field of study during my high school. My father primarily was against to my decision because he contended that biology would be better for me because of several reasons. But, I did not pay attention to my father's opinion and I chose mathematics. After a couple of years, although I got regretful, I was still glad because I made that decision based on my own opinion.

In general, by elapsing time, people's habits and beliefs are changing and nothing is similar to past anymore, thus young people in the past depended too much on their parents to make decisions, however, today individuals are willing to recognize their future path themselves.