Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that in the past the young generations were too much dependent on their parents as parents were in charge of their life, but in the present time, the young people are more independent and make their decision of their own. I am agreeing with this stance and believe that young people are now more independent for three reasons.

First of all, young people now make their own decision as they earn their own money. For example, young people are now allowed to do jobs like a grown person and by this process, they have become economically stable and can make their decision of their own. In the past, our grandparents were not allowed to do any jobs when they were young and due to this their decision-making capabilities were restricted. As the children are now earning money, they can use this money of their own and can make their own decisions.

Second of all, young people are now more mentally developed than their parents. For instance, scientists have now found that the brain developments of young people are more rapid than the past generations. As the brain is developing faster, they are now maturing faster and making their decision of their own. In the past, young people were not maturing faster and due to this their decision-making capabilities were hindered. As a mature people like to make their own planning, these younger people like to make their own decision in life

Finally, young people are now more educated, as a result, they like to take their decision of their own. For example, younger people are now learning more easily as it is easy to get educated. As we know, an educated person likes to take their own decision, similarly, the young people like to take their decision of their own. In the past, education was limited to only the rich people and due to this, the older generation was dependent on their parents for any decision.

For those above three reasons, I believe that young people make the decision about their life by themselves as they have money, more education, and further mental development.