Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? people should stop reading and listening to the news for a period of days and weeks

It is tempting to think that whether people should stop reading or listening to the news for a few days or few weeks. For this idea, every expert could have different opinions. However, for me, it is impossible for individuals stop reading and listening news for a long time, because many people rely on reading and listening to the news to make new friends and reading the news is responsibility for a country’s citizens.

To begin with, people who do not like reading and listening to the news usually feel very hard to make new friends and keep friendship with their old friends. This is because they do not have a common topic to talk about. For instance, Lucy, one of my classmates, have said that the news is the most boring thing in the world. In this case, only when he has required to read or listen to the news will he read or listen. Otherwise, he will never read or watch them. However, he barely has few friends, and he never makes new friend in three middle years. It may be hard to believe that he does not have many friends, because of hating to read or listen news. However, it is he hating to watch or read news that he usually does not have some common topics with others. Therefore, when others are talking about recent news, he will feel struggle and boring, so he chooses to quit the conversation. Gradually, he loses some of his friends and stops making new friends. Obviously, stopping to read or watch news for few weeks can bring such bad influence for making friends and keep old friends, so people should not stop to read and watch news.

Additionally, it is responsibility for each citizen watching and reading new constantly, because everyone has obligations to know what happens to their countries and the world. For example, currently, global warming is a really serious problem to the whole world, if people do not know how serious it is, they will continue to choose using somethings that are very unfriendly to our environment, like burning woods. In this case, for a long time, our earth will be like the predictions in the news, many cities nearby the ocean will disappear. On the contrary, if everyone has the habit that watches and reads new every day, they may know that our earth is suffering serious people, they will not do somethings that hurt our earth! In this case, it is obvious to think that it is abnormal to stop people to read and listen to the news.