do you agree or disagree with the following statement? people would be happier if they had fewer possessions.

In today’s modern world, shopping is an indispensable part of person’s everyday life. diverse stores ranging from small store to huge malls, have been established in order to respond to this issue. With this in mind, some people hold the opinion that shopping more bring them more joy and happiness whereas other think otherwise. As far as I am concerned, having more possessions do not guarantee happy life. I feel this way for great number of reasons among which increasing stress and spending money and energy for up keeping of products and helping poor people are considerable.

To begin with, undoubtedly, the more one possesses, the more concerned he or she become to losing them. In this case, not only having more possession not make a person happy, but also he or she feel more stressed out and nervous and must allot lot of energy in order to protect and keep a particular product. For instance, when someone buys an expensive product like diamond ring, this person is unconsciously and intentionally concerned about losing the ring; therefore, he or she feel more anxious and possessing a diamond ring has no impact on her or his happiness.

Secondly, people in order to possess more products must spend an immense amount of money. therefore; people must work and thrive harder to acquire more money. Moreover, having more belongings, has its own cost. Take insurance’s cost as an illustration. When someone possesses an expensive thing, he or she must spend great deal of money for insuring a particular product. In my opinion, the money and time one must allot to own more products, could use for better purposes such as spending more quality time with family members or friends, or spending money for traveling which is a good way to release stress and increase happiness.

Last but not least, today’s world confronts the global economic crisis. Many countries are now in the midst of the longest recession and because of this recession, great deal of people have loosed their job and have become hard up. With this in mind, in my view, as a human being is responsibility of all people to help one another. One way which can be helpful is rather than spending less money on unnecessary and useless products, donate this money to different charities or organizations and this way help other people. Such extravagance is shameful when there are people starving in the world. By helping other people, we can cope with poverty and ultimately improve our society significantly.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly convinced that people in order to feel more fulfilled and happy, do not have to possess more belongings, on the ground that to own more possession, one must spend great deal of money and energy for maintenance of her or his possessions; additionally, this money can use for helping needy and eliminating poverty in society.