Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people and scientists believe that playing video games is a waste of time and energy for the children and since the children are the cornerstone of a bright future for a prosprose society, they should not be allowed to play them. With that being said, I believe that not only video games aren't harmless for the children, but also they are actually of great importance for the youngesters to be involved with. I will give three main reasons why I believe that video games are healthy, in following paragraphs.

First of all, children have a lot of time during the day and beside their school and homework they should be able to fill their daily time with safe and secure hobbies. Children need to enjoy their childhood and if they get involved in activities that might be of great fun, but not safe they might never enjoy their time as a child. for example imagine that if children start climbing trees because they don't have anyhting else to do and suddenly one of them slips and injures his or her spine and the poor child get paralized. While the same kid could simply be sitting on the couch, safe and sound, playing video games.This example clearly shows how video games that the children can sit behind a screen and enjoy them are much more safer thatn other activities.

Second of all, many recent researches has been conducted on the effect of video games on children's mind and the results confirm that when children are for example playing a mind game and they are constantly thinking about a mystery and the keys to solve it, it helps them to nurture their minds and also because anything is possible in video games and the children can do what they think is the best it helps to provide a great scope for imaginition in children and as we all know the importance of a healthy active mind, we can not deny the important role of video games in nurturing such minds. Also many children may find out what they are good at, in other word what is their talent by playing video games.

Finally, with the advances in technology and visual effects and video games with actual physical activity compabalities the children can play video games with physical activities that helps them to remain healthy and learn some skills while enjoying playing video games. For example if a child play skate board at home on a special stage made by the gaming compony for home usage, not only he or she is learning to ride a skate at home without any special tool or coach but also the child has a lot of physical activities from jumping around.

In conclusion, I believe that today children should be allowed to play video games. Playing video games is not a waste of time for children, because the children are safe around them, they can train their minds and find their talents playing video games and also instead of trying hard and spending lots of money on classes for learning a sport, they can simply learn and master what ever they want simply at home using video games.