Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, in many countries democracy is thriving, and because of this young people have more freedom than their parents had. Personally, I think that in modern society, adolescents do not have to follow strict rules. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, contemporary women can choose who they will marry to and live their lives with. In the past, in many cultures, this choice was made by parents of young ladies. My mother`s experience is a compelling example of this. I am from Russia, the country of many nationalities. As my mother told me, when she was a high school student, many of her classmates already knew who they will marry to. This is because it was a common practice when parents looked for a couple for their daughters. Preferences of a bride, by the way, parents did not consider, and so many girls had to become wives of men, whom they even did not like. Although in remote parts of the country some families still follow this tradition, the majority of women in Russia can decide themselves who they will link their future with. That is why I believe that millennials are more independent now.

Secondly, nowadays youngsters can choose whether obtain a college education or start working right after the graduation from high school, and they will not be judged by society for their decisions. Conversely, a few decades ago young people were forced to acquire a university degree, otherwise, they were considered lazy or not intelligent enough. For instance, my husband does not have a college degree. He decided to become a farmer after high school. He worked physically hard to make alife. However, many of his peers laughed at him and told that in order to be respected by others he had to go to college first. On the contrary, these days if a person lacks a university degree but works on land, he is highly appreciated by people from his community.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern adolescents are not expected to obey strict rules. This is because contemporary girls can marry whoever they want, and because guys can decide whether or not they will study in an institution.