Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Scientists should be responsible for the negative impacts of their discoveries

By and large, it’s established beyond doubt that technology and new inventions play a prominent role in all societies. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is whether scientists are responsible for undesired effects of their discoveries. I firmly believe that the answer is absolutely no. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

First off, it is generally agreed that most of new inventions and technologies are capable of being used in order to serve human kind or on the other hand simultaneously being a potential threat to the world and its inhabitants. So it is not rational to accuse scientists of the dark side of technology. The modern world offers numerous examples of this point. Internet is a concrete sample; although it comes up with lots of advantages, it may be disreputable due to lots of crimes which are committed through it. While we cannot deny the massive effects of internet in our everyday life and modern world, we may have seen people who have lost their fortune or have been deceived via the internet.

Another equally significant point is that, in cases which misusing of technology leads to undesired effects, the user is the direct responsible for it. To illustrate the point, consider drugs which are made for specific diseases. Some people may use them in improper cases such as suicide. Here there is no logical reason to blame scientists for discovering drugs that save lives of millions of people every year.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. Scientists cannot guarantee that no one will abuse their inventions, in fact it is really out of their control. In these cases, authorities must legislate to prevent and reduce these problems. A prime example is the science of telemetry which is a high technology using satellites to observe climate changes such as global warming or the process of polar ice melting; on the other side of the coin, this science can be used with military purposes which could be a threat to mankind. Some organizations have the power of legislation to prevent turning technology into a nightmare.

Contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that there are different aspects when talking about undesired and negative effects of new discoveries and innovations which ends up with this conclusion that scientists are not responsible for negative effects of their discoveries.