Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To solve the problems of the present and the future, people should learn from the past

It is a common sense that our human beings have always been sparing no efforts to strive for better life generation after generation. In order to cope with upcoming problems so as to achieve higher goals, some individuals advocate that we should lean from the past, while others oppose. As for me, I am a firm believer that learning from the past will bring tremendous benefits especially when it comes to harsh difficulties.

To begin with, historical failures help us accumulate precious experience, laying a solid foundation for future success. As a saying goes, failure is the mother of success. The mistakes happened in the past provide us a sea of profound materials that we can make full use of. For example, the cutting-edge invention of space shuttle is based on the countless failed experiments in the past. Without the imperative data coming from the past tests, engineers could not find the defects, let alone making greater progress. It is the accumulated experience from the past and the constant reflection on those failures help the inventors push their boundaries, reduce errors and finally make it through.

Secondly, the past history serves as a bright mirror which reflects common problems. Many problems we encounter nowadays have already presented in the past. Dating back to the history plays a decisive role in tracing the roots of the problems so as to eliminate them utterly. For instance, the economic crisis has been plaguing many countries for years. Many famous politicians or economists come up many strategies to tackle with it but could not find a way out. However, if we recall history, we may find many similar cases. As far as we know, the recent success case of overcoming economic crisis happened in America, 1920s. Although some external cues have changed by time, but the core of this phenomenon remains the same and the policies implemented at that time may still work out. Therefore, the experts can simply draw inspiration from the past cases, and lay out perfect solutions to match with the current situation.

What's more , the past events also offer us valuable heritage, like the attractive traditional culture. Many people claims that they are suffering from the cultural poverty since the electronic gadgets only only generates the flooding of fragmented information, washing way some truly profound content. Under that circumstances, it is time that we pick up the old traditions, reading some classical books or watching black-and -movies, to understand the past wisdom , appreciate the exquisite language and recall the purity of our spiritual world.

To sum up, the benefits of learning from the past is ubiquitous. We should keep it as a primary principle when we come across current problems.