Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students can learn as much by watching movies as they can learn by reading books. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are various enjoyable ways for students to acquire knowledge and open up their horizon. Personally, I believe students can learn much more through books than movies. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following assay.

To begin with, movies explore themes in visual and verbal ways, while books require us to imagine through their description. The direct impaction of visualization seems more effective, but it is more beneficial to develop extensive thinking by reading books. Also, sounds and pictures from movies can distract you, while books help concentrate on the worth-thinking theme itself. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I am reading fiction novels, I always envision the depiction of scenes in the book and assume I become a character in the book. But disappointingly, though the pictures of movies are shocking and aesthetic, I feel a bit pity as it can’t be superb fit with my imagination. What’s worse, I have less following thinking after watching movies than that of reading books.

Besides, there are a great many topics that we can choose from to read, but when it comes to movies it may be limited to a narrower range, due to the length of movie, technology or other reasons. Abundant subjects connotes more fields that students can learn from. For instance, my cousin is really obsessed with history books and have read many books of this type. It can combine noteworthy historical events with intriguing stories. He sometimes narrates tale after tale to me, which attracts me a lot. However, it is hardly possible for movies to cover this as it has so wide a time range and so many stories that are worthwhile to know. If it is made into movies, it may neglect lots of details. Learners like my cousin get more comprehensive knowledge of history by reading books.

In conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that students can learn more by reading than watching movies. This is because learners have more room to imagine as well as think, and can get access to various topics.