It is critically important that we learn as much as possible and thrive in all of their classes. Personally, I believe that young people nowadays do not have as much respect for their teachers compared to the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there are many more ways for students to learn nowadays which means they are less reliant on teachers than in the past. Few years ago, children could only learn new skills by going to schools and attending classes, so they respected their teachers a lot. In contrast, now they can easily use technology to learn independently.

My personal experience is a compelling example of this. For the past six years, I have been studying English almost every single day. Although my native language is Mongolian, I am able to communicate in English without feeling anxiety. I expand my vocabulary by using a smartphone application that teaches my three new phrases everyday, and I practice my pronunciation by watching videos on the Internet. Consequently, I feel old-fashioned class with a teacher is not as important as they used to be. If I wanted to learn English twenty years ago, I would have dependent on teachers and respected them a lot.

Furthermore, I feel the quality of teachers has been decreasing. At present there are a lot more teachers than there were in the past, as quantity rises quality diminishes. Requirements of the teachers are low compared to fifty years ago. For instance, I started learning English on my own because I felt my English teacher’s knowledge was not enough. She was teaching courses I already knew five years prior. Moreover, ninety percent of my teachers were like that, I only had one teacher I respected a lot. He was my math teacher, he was old, professional, and had a very efficient way of teaching. In addition, I discussed with my parents about these modern day teachers, they thought the same with me. Since then, I have not respected the majority of my teachers at all. My classmates have picked up my behavior, and have started not respecting teachers as well. Based on this experience, I strongly feel that young people do not respect educators like they did in the past.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that children do not respect their teachers as they used to. This is because teachers are not essential as they were a few decades ago, and their quality of teaching has been decreasing overtime.