Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is inevitable that education is an important policy for every country because children are the future of the country. Therefore, it raises the question the government should spend the money on the education of very young children or spend money on universities. I hold the belief that the government needs to spend the money on the young generation.

First of all, it can benefit most people by spending the money on the young people because not every citizen is willing to enter the university, but they all need to study in the elementary school. Hence, if the government put the budget on the basic stage, it can help most people. Take my country Taiwan for example. In Taiwan, our government provides the basic education for all citizens, meaning that we all need to study in school for about nine years. Even the students coming from the disadvantaged family also can enter the school to learn the basic acknowledges without paying any money. Therefore, this policy makes Taiwan have the highest literacy rate around the world.

Furthermore, expect the government, no other people or organization will offer the basic educational resources because it cannot make the profit on it. On the contrary, founding the university can make money by attracting many students desiring to have decent jobs in the future to pay the expensive tuition. On the other hands, only the government has the ability to conduct the basic education. Take China for example. At last year, the big earthquake hit China and many elementary schools collapsed. This accident made many people donate the money to build an elementary school to help the students there. At first, it seemed everything fine because the donation kept coming in so the school had enough money to find teachers and buy some fundamental stuffs for running the school. However, the donation decreases now because people start to forget this accident and the school finally shut down, proving that without the government, it is difficult to run the elementary school.

Some may argue that the government needs to put the effort in the university since the university can help students to understand the advanced knowledge, which can lead our country to a brighter future. However, I insist that if we do not cultivate the strong basic knowledge in the elementary school, how can we learn well in the university? Therefore, if the government offer enough basic educational resources, then all students have enough abilities to enter the university, which will make our country stronger.

In conclusion, I take the position that the government needs to spend money on the education of the young people because it not only can benefit more people but also is the task that only government can do.