Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although many people believe that teaching is one of the most valuable jobs in the world and that teachers should be appreciated all the time, I think that today teachers are less appreciated by society than in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, in the past, teachers were the only people who could teach students, and there was no other option for students to use for learning new stuff. However, nowadays, technology has improved a lot, and there is no need to have a teacher to learn new things. In other words, new devices such as computers and the Internet let students learn as much as possible in various subjects; therefore, students are not dependent on teachers to understand specific areas of knowledge. They can find and learn everything they want through the Internet. As a result, the importance of teachers in society has declined, and they are not appreciated like before. For example, my little sister does not think her teacher has an essential role in her education because she believes that searching the Internet and using online data is a more convenient way to learn her lessons.

Furthermore, teaching was a popular and respectful job in the past, and people respected teachers more than now. Most people believed that teaching was the most important job and that teachers were the highest social state of society. In contrast, new jobs have emerged in recent years that seem important to people, so a few people think that teachers play a crucial role in society. As a result, teaching has lost its importance to many people who believe that other careers are more beneficial for society. My own experience is an appealing example of this. My father is a teacher and was always appreciated by my family and neighbors. However, these days he is not appreciated by those people, and my brother is greatly respected. Because he is a computer engineer and solves my family's and neighbors' problems with their electronic devices. It seems that his job is more appreciated than my father's job since more people rely on computer expertise rather than teaching.

In conclusion, I think people appreciate teachers less than before. It is because most students do not rely on teachers to be taught and because some new jobs have emerged that did not exist in the past. Hence, many think new jobs are more critical and beneficial for most people.