Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television

has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use

specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Television undoubtedly has had a huge impact on society. Personally, I think that television has caused a decrease in interaction between people. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, these days a lot of people prefer to spend their spare time in front of a TV instead of going out and enjoying a company of their friends. The variety of channels offer us a myriad of documentaries, movies, and entertaining programs to watch. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have a full-time job and family with two children to care of. Not only that, but I constantly practice English in order to obtain a pharmaceutical license in the United States and work in my favorite field. In this way, I always tired and when I have some free time I just want to lay down on a couch in front of Tv and relax. Moreover, I have a cable, and so there is always something to watch. As a result, I do not hang out with my friends as often as I did before and I feel that our connection weaken. This example illustrates how television can negatively affect relationships between people.

Secondly, numerous political programs on television have caused misunderstandings between citizens. Many reporters who cover political affairs do not research information for their reportages properly and say misleading facts which regular people can believe in. For instance, when a few years go my country faced a presidential election, certain channels praised a particular candidate because he paid for the support. They told that the applicant has helped people in need and founded a charity organization. I did not believe this information but my mother did. She wanted to vote for him but since I knew that he was corrupted, I tried to explain he the truth. In this way, we argued a lot and even did not talk to each other for a while. Finally, police found out that his charity organization was just a way to avoid paying taxes and so he was dismissed. Although sometimes television provides information that relatives can listen to and discuss, very often the information can divide us.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern television threatens communication between family members and friends. This is because it offers a lot of programs to watch and relax in a quiet environment, and because a lot of lie on TV lead to conflicts between citizens.