Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television

has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use

specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Television undoubtedly has had a huge impact on society. Personally, I think that television has caused a decrease in interaction between people. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, these days a lot of people prefer to spend their spare time in front of a TV instead of going out and enjoying the company of their friends. The variety of channels offer us a myriad of documentaries, movies, and entertaining programs to watch. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have a full-time job and family with two children to take care of. Not only that, but I constantly practice English in order to obtain a pharmaceutical license in the United States and work in my favorite field. In this way, I always tired and when I have some free time I just want to lay down on a couch in front of a TV and relax. Moreover, I have a cable, and so there is always plenty of fascinating films to watch. As a result, I do not socialize with my friends as often as I did before and I feel that our connection has weakened. This example illustrates how television can negatively affect relationships.

Secondly, the variety of deceptive information on television can lead relatives to argue about it and even verbally fight with each other. It is not a secret that some journalists get paid for what they say in their programs, and so their reportages cab be misleading. For instance, when a few years ago my country faced a presidential election, certain channels praised a particular candidate because he paid them the for their support. They told that the applicant was an outstanding and generous person. My mother believed in this and wanted to vote for him. However, I was certain that reporters who praised the candidate were corrupted and I tried to explain it my mother. We argued a lot and even stopped talking for a while. Despite the opinion that the vast information on television helps people to increase intellectually, it actually can destroy their relationships.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern television has threatened communication between family members and friends. This is because watching TV is sometimes more relaxing that socializing with friends, and because a lot of lie on TV can cause conflicts between relatives.