Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A college education is an arduous and sometimes overwhelming process, and it is crucial for students to have an opportunity to relieve the tension that they are continuously under. Personally, I believe that universities should fund sports and social activities in the same way that they do with classes and libraries. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, sports activities can help pupils to maintain their physical and emotional health, which is necessary for successful studies. When young people physically exercise, their blood flow increases as well as the level of oxygen, and so their brains work better. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a pharmacy school student, my institution did not have a well-equipped gym, and I had to drive far away from the campus to a local gym. I always felt great after a workout, but unfortunately, it was time-consuming and expensive to drive long distance, and for this reason, I could do it only once a week. I believe that if my college had had enough sports equipment, I could have exercised more and would have performed better in a class. Although some people argue that in universities libraries desperately need financial support to purchase a myriad of books, these days students can find all information they need on the Internet.

Secondly, through social activities pupils can gain communication skills that are important for their future careers. Nowadays, the majority of businesses are based on the teamwork, and if an employee can get along with his co-workers, he will be valuable to his employers. For instance, as a pharmacist, I have to constantly interact with pharmacy technicians. I have to train and lead them. Sometimes it is not easy. However, when I was a student, my classmates and I took part in a variety of social projects, and so we learned how to effectively communicate with each other, and how to help each other out. As a result, my employers have often praised me for the ability to maintain a positive environment in my pharmacy.

To conclude, I strongly believe that colleges should equally support sports, social activities, classes, and libraries. This is because it will help students with their academic performance, and will help them to excel in life.