Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? These days, children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports. However, they should be given more time to do whatever they want.

In today’s progressive world, being successful in different areas is the major ambition which all parents have for their children. People try to plan the best daily schedule for their children in order to make them thrived in their lives. Some people think children should allocate all their time to some positive activities such as school work and sports. On the other hand, others hold an opposite view, believing that children should be given more time to do whatever they tend to. I, personally, concur with the latter group for some reasons on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, although the school activities and playing a regular sport are essential elements in children’s lives, the crucial role of leisure time in protect the mental health of children should not be underestimated. Nowadays, parents want to manage the time of children as they do positive activities all the time and not to waste time at all. They assign their children in different classes and do not allow them to spend their time as they enjoy. Parents, focusing on the best educational methods and more advantageous courses, overlook the emotional requirement of children. Children at school are overwhelmed and inundated with a lot of tasks and duties, and this situation imposes them an enormous pressure. In this vein, they need to have leisure time to relieve their stress and tension and stay productive. Having more time to do favorite activities can children have quality time at home, and as a result, perform better in school or other activities.

Second, the most blissful people are the ones who like the activities they do. When parents believe that children should only do school tasks and do exercise, they deprive their children of the chances of finding their interests and also unearthing their talents. They gradually convert their children to the robots which only do everything is dictated to them. Therefore, children do not have an opportunity to be innovative and creative in their lives. An example can derive this notion home. One of my friends, despite her great successes at work and several medals of swimming contests, is not satisfied with her life. She says that her childhood was spent on hardworking; she never has time to think about what she wanted. Had her parents allowed her to do what she wanted, she would have found her personal interest.

To sum it up, with taken two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that children have to be allowed to spend more time on whatever they want. In this way, not only they stay productive and fresh but also it is highly probable that they find their interests and talents.