Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Education should not just be limited to the development of the intellect of a student; it should include the overall development of the student's personality. Along with academic growth, physical development should be a part of the education a student gets. Therefore, universities imparting education to students should give equal attention to sports and academics.

Sports bring out the competitive spirit in a person. Whether it is a team game or an individual sport, the chance to compete with others in the same group and the urge to perform well on a sports ground builds confidence in a student. Participating in a team sport enhances a student's ability to interact with people around and to coordinate with others. This confidence and ability to share holds them in good stead when they interact with others in the society. There have been many such examples of great sports persons in the past such as soccer star Pele or basketball champion Magic Johnson, who have gone ahead to become good ambassadors of sports in the society.

A student's capability should not be judged alone on his or her academic results. It may happen that a student not doing well in his studies might turn out to be a very able sports person. Teachers interacting with such students should be sensitive enough to identify such potential in students and help them develop their talent in sports. The sports facilities available in the universities go a long way in creating interest among students towards sports. It would be rather sad if a talented student is not able to pursue his or her field of sport due to a lack of facilities. Universities should make sure that the proper infrastructure is provided, and students with potential are awarded for their achievements.

To conclude, I would say that for overall development of students, universities should spend an equal amount of money on sports as they spend on acquiring books and other library materials. This additional allocation of money toward building sports facilities will benefit student-athletes by helping them to realize their competitive edge and to foster improved social interaction with them and society.