Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In humans’ lives, health has been one of the most precious gifts that God has bestowed upon human beings. Therefore, physical and mental health plays a vital role in anyone’s life. In this regard, sports and social activities have become a crucial issue for universities managers. Some of whom are of the opinion that allotting an equal amount of budget is necessary for sports and educational goals in a university, while others believe that universities should allot more budget for academic purposes. I subscribe to the first group rather than the second for quite a few reasons, two substantial ones of which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, with the galloping rate of the competition in workspaces, students work hard in universities, and they spend the majority of their time in the libraries and classes. Therefore, their physical activities decrease dramatically, so they do not have time for cooking and eating a healthy diet, and they usually use fast foods and other foods that contain plenty of calories. As a result, they need a place for burning their extra calories. In addition, although, a university is a place for preparing students for the future career, sometimes, in some universities, there are many social evils, such as drugs, alcohol, cigarettes, and to name but a few that cause many problems for students. One of the best ways for preventing these issues is to fill students’ free time by means of sports and social activities.

Second, interaction with other people is an essential issue in today’s world, and a university is a place that students can learn this important issue by means of sports and social activities. These kinds of activities enhance students’ spirit of teamwork. Therefore, it brings about to improve their abilities in the workspace and the university and learn priceless things from each other. By doing so, they can use their experiences in their private lives. For example, students who participate in a sports team or social activities can know to interact with other people and has the sense of cooperation with other people, and he or she knows how to act in the crucial situation in the proper manner. As a result, they can manage problems not only in their workspace but also in their private lives.

In conclusion, the pressure of the assignments and harmful diets in the university, and improving the interaction between students are two crucial issues that I think that allotting high budget for these activities is essential.