Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Since the year dot, knowledge has been one of the most precious gifts that God has bestowed upon human beings. In this regard, humans always try to elevate their knowledge in any era. In the modern age, one of the best and significant places for education is a university. A university not only is a place for learning specific skills about specific majors but also is a where that students can learn a great number of skills. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that universities should allocate equal financial budgets for academic and social activities, while other people believe that academic goals are more important than other activities. I subscribe to the first idea rather than the second for quite a few reasons, two substantial ones of which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, a university is a place that most of the people’s talents germinate in there. Apart from academic improvements, students are in need of physical and mental improvements. Students spend a high share of their time in the libraries and in front of the computers, and, after some years, they suffer eye problems and other physical diseases. Therefore, one of the best ways to overcome these problems is exercise; physical activities are able to improve students' functions in academic purposes. In addition, creating an atmosphere for these activates requires some infrastructure such as gyms, playing field, standard facilities, and coaches, to name but a handful. Also, a student who participates in these activities has an active and fresh mood, and they can concentrate on their academic activities. Furthermore, in quite a few universities for earning scholarships in the graduate and post-graduate positions, admission centers of these universities evaluate students’ social and sports backgrounds, and it is one of the most crucial factors for accepting new students. Although sports and social activities have a vital role in students' mental and physical health, managers of universities should balance between academic and other activities in a university.

Second, students cannot learn social skills from classic classes or self-study, but universities are able to create students opportunities for enhancing these abilities. Social activities build a sense of responsibility in young people. For the future of our country, we need to have responsible people to promote ethics in our society. For example, in one of the universities in the US, there is a club that students participate in general benefit activities. In this club, after lunch or dinner time, members of this club gather the leftover food in the kitchen, and they packed them, and distribute them between homeless and poor people. These kinds of activities improve students’ sense of responsibility and self-confidence. Hence, in the future, these students will be able to accept the responsibilities of their community, and they will able to guide their society to utopia.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I believe that universities have a crucial role in our society, and a large percentage of our people spend their youth time in universities. Two of the most important factors to improve our educational system are improving the physical and mental health of our young generation and preparing the youth for the future of country. A country will not able to reach prosperities without spending enough budget and notice on these activities.