Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

In the history of mankind, there are quite a few jobs in which people earn legal and illegal income. One of the valuable and legal jobs is being a teacher. Although teachers' income is not usually high, but their income is so priceless. In any period of time, there are different approaches to teachers’ position in society from social-position to income, and their roles in society. One issue about teachers’ job is comparing teachers’ value in the past and in the present time. In my opinion, teachers’ value is far higher in the past than the present time. I will explain my viewpoint through two outstanding reasons.

First, in the past, there were fairly less educated people than now, and teachers’ positions were more valuable than now. In that time, living situation was so more different than today’s life, and people’s jobs were always blue-collar jobs. Therefore, a small proportion of the people were able to read and write necessary scientific materials, and their only source of knowledge was teachers for science. In contrast, in today’s lives, a high percentage of the people is educated people, and, because of the developments in communication technology, every person can find any topic in any field by pressing a few keys on the keyboards, and find valuable information from the Internet. Hence, today’s technology breaks teachers’ monopoly in information and science. As a result, their value becomes less than the past.

Second, earlier, people were far more religious than now, and people, who were able to read and write, were mostly concentrated in schools that depend on churches and religious centers. The teachers of these kinds of schools were usually priests, and not only were they the leader of their religious ceremonies but also were the manager of these kinds of schools, as a result, their positions were far more respected by people because of their religion and educational activities. Additionally, in the past, humans' knowledge was limited in the Bible and rudimentary science such as simple math, physics, and biology, to name but a handful, and any person who know these ordinary issues, became well-known as ‘scientist’, and he or she were respected by people On the other hand, today’s schools are often secular, and religion and education are separated from each other. Therefore, teachers were respected only for their knowledge and scientific abilities rather than their jobs. Apart from, todays’ teachers, because of the development of the distribution of science, are supposed to be experts in their field in one aspect, and it might reduce their value in our communities.

In conclusion, the small number of educated people and the concentration of schools in the religious centers are the most significant factors of teachers' respect in the past. In my view, teachers have to be more respected than other jobs, since their duties are very crucial in our society, and if we do not notice their position and respect, we will have problems in our the next generations.