Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Broadly speaking, in the current state of affairs we observe, in which better society is of great importance, it is not wrong if one was to say that young people play a key role to that end. However, whether they can influence the society or not has long been considered as a subject of debate among academicians. one popular opinion regarding this issue states that young people have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole, citing a number of reasons in its support. I, personally, concur with this thesis. In what follows, I will attempt to clarify my decision by focusing on 2 reasons.

one important reason coming to my mind at first is that today's young people are less independent. In this modern era, young people rely on their parents so much. parents have fewer children in comparison to past and they pay more attention to their children. The more someone receives so much attention from their parents, the less they do their duties. Needless to say that when young people should decide in their lives because they are not independent person, they cannot make decision easily. Take a 22 years old boy for instance and let's assume he graduates from university. he decides to live alone and he cannot make a decision about what house should he choose and always ask his parents opinion and consider what they think. so, if he cannot decide a simple thing for his life, how he can influence the whole society.

Another reason that can be mentioned in these lines is that young people concentrate only on their own lives. As human beings, we face so many difficulties in our lives that we should focus on our own lives. young people should think about so important things, such as they should think about their jobs, incomes, place to live, marriage and so on. they do not have time to think about other things. so, they cannot have an important influence on society compared to their parent who is retired and stay at home. For instance, I never participated in presidential elections of my country and I know that it has a powerful influence on my society and my life in as much as I cannot find a time to research about candidates and always focus on my works.

To sum up, in my point of view, young children cannot have an influence on the important decisions in their society. they are not independent individuals and they always rely on their parents for decision making so they cannot make important decisions for their society. Moreover, they live in a very sophisticated era that should only concentrate on their own lives.