Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life is changing in a very rapid rhythm compared to the past, even in the behavior and way of thinking of young people. There is a debate on whether the youngsters today have a significant influence on their societies or not. In my opinion, I believe that young people today have voice and effect on the world and in this essay I will demonstrate my reasons for that support.

To begin with, youngsters today are more knowledgeable and experienced in different aspects of life than in the past. They learn at school and universities how to think rationally, be leaders and make informed decisions according to evidence. In politics for example, they are able to make decisions concerning their country's future and to assert their vision for its prosperity. They are now highly qualified to interpret events happening in the society around them and even in the world as a whole. They are able to defend their rights in gaining freedom, democracy and social equity. All these abilities were acquired through learning from the past and observing the points of weakness and strength of the previous generations.

Secondly, with the help of the technological development and the use of the internet, young people are able to communicate with other people in the world and discover different points of view. Moreover, they managed to know what is happening far from them and take lessons from it as well as interacting with it. These factors helped in building strong background and represented a platform to start their influence.

Lastly, youth learned early the meaning of responsibility because of the current circumstances and world events that force them to mature and root for their opinions. For instance, we can see now young people presiding leading positions in their universities and colleges through which they can transfer their opinions to the society. From my personal experience, when I was in the university, I was the president of the students' union and I could participate in changing many decisions taken by our teachers and administrators for the collective usefulness.

In the summary, I posit that young people have today significant roles and effects on the important decisions of their societies. This is because of the enhanced education they receive, the internet and being inherently responsible.