Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on whether teenagers today have any impact on any important decisions of their future society or not. While some people believe that young people today have a significant role in their communities, I hold the opposite view. I think, nowadays, young people have no impact on any decisions for their societies.

To begin with, teenagers today tend to entertain themselves more than contributing in any events for the community. They have eager to play video games most of their times. For example, my nephew Mohammed is fifteen years old; his mother forced to punish him sometimes in order to leave video games and eat with her in the same table. He used to play more than twelve hours a day. Therefore, he would not take any decisions for his community while he is setting in front of his games. On the other hand, young people in the past did not have all these games, so they were able to spend most of their time in community services.

In addition to playing games more often, young people today have very weak personality. They lack many communicational skills and the ability to negotiate with people. For instance, Steve jobs admired electronic devices when he was fifteen years old. He had the ability to fix many of them at his small room in his house, but he was not able to talk with his parents about his talent because he did not know how to talk with people and convince them toward anything. After he became an adult, he took many classes to improve his communication skills, so he was able at adult age to make great decision for the community. Unlike young people in the past, their parents tend to let them stay with people who are older than them in order to let them learn many skills. A good example about that is my father, he knew how to talk with people and convince them since he was twelve years old because he spent many times talking with older people.