Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

University lays a very foundation for the future development of college students. Among the great selections of these courses, some people may say that history courses should be made compulsory for college students for the reason that they could be more familiar with the advancement as well as the evolution of human society. I, in contrast, disagree with the previous statement. I believe that asking students of all majors to attend required history courses would cause problems.

First of all, history courses would put more academic pressure on college students. The students in post-secondary education have already had packed schedules of professional courses. A medical student, for example, is not only obliged to complete his academic papers for credit but also requested to serve in a hospital mandatorily for clinical training. The student is probably unable to afford an irrelevant course, such as history, due to his heavy load in the medical program. In this case, schools should not put any additional requirement in rules of course selection; otherwise, it would be such an overload that student would fail to pass the important examinations in his own major.

Secondly, a required history course inevitably leads to an extracurricular cost for students as well as their parents. To guarantee the quality of new history classes, the school needs to employ more talented and senior professors and experts with considerable salaries from well-known universities and academic institutions. The increased cost of schooling eventually reflects on the adjustment of tuition fee and, even worse, deprives many underprivileged students of the opportunity for higher education.

Admittedly, taking history courses does have its merits. Students could learn to prevent repeating the mistakes of the past. For instance, they would study the causes of world wars and other bloody battles that claimed the lives of millions. Moreover, students could also gain a better understanding of contemporary issues in history. By studying the America Revolution, for the other example, a student could be enlightened in modern world democracy. However, these kinds of knowledge could be obtained through any methods besides required courses. History seminars, television documentaries and books are all available options for student to learn about history.

In conclusion, although there are some small advantages of a history course, requiring a student to take a history course would be overburdened the student both academically and financially. Additionally, the small benefits that a required history course would provide could be acquired from other ways.