Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge of our own history is recommended for students to understand the past of the nation. However, making it compulsory for all the students is not necessary. Personally, I believe that students should not take any subject forcefully without having no interest. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, university students already feel a lot of pressure of their own major subjects, projects, and extracurricular activities. Making history an essential subject will unnecessarily put extra burden on them. Many of the students are not able to clear their own major subjects, making history necessary will further aggravate their conditions. Moreover, history is irrelevant subject for most of the students who choose engineering, medical or IT as a major. Therefore, history is going to help them in any way. Take an example of a medical student, who has a lot of lectures along with laboratory classes and vivas. Studying history will never help him/her understanding medical better, rather it makes him/her spend less time on the medical subjects. So this will eventually affect his/her grades and performance.

Secondly, not only students but also universities will also get negatively affected by this decision. This decision will force them to make special arrangements for an additional subject. The university will have to hire an expert to teach history. To compensate that, the universities will increase the fee and by this action, students will be affected directly. Hike in the university tuition fee might restrain socially deprived students to take admission. Unprivileged and financially vulnerable parts of the society will be deeply affected if the fee hiked. Local universities, which cannot afford a good teacher might have to compromise on a low budget and knowledge lacked teacher. By doing this, the education level will decline and universities might fail to produce talented graduates.

Finally, this is the 21st century and now the world is more focused on technology to make lifestyle of individuals better. Science and technology is the need of the hour. All of the countries are trying to come together and contribute the the humanity and to make the world more beautiful and better place. Making history a compulsary subject will not help at all in the development. The universities should more focus on research and development rathrer than history. Indeed, history is the field all should have knoledge about, it is a matter of pride. But makin it compulsion is not recommended.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that history should not taught forcefully to students. This is because it will unnecessarily create difficulties for both students and universities.