The university has provided students who are going to enter university with two summer vacation programmes. Which one do you think is better for students?

1)take some college course in advance of some course that is related to students' major

2) visit some history museums or historical relics

I stand for that universities should give incoming students a taste of pre-courses in summer. Students graduating from high schools are generally confused with several issues related to their future study, and a college-level summer courses give them college-life experience before semester start.

The first aspect to point out is that high school students often not make decision on their majors, and the courses in specific field can help them to figure out their interests. Take my experience on determining my major for example. I have great grades on history in my high school, and I usually thought I can become a historian in future. Before entering the university, my school hold a summer camp for students to experience college life. During the camp, I was aware of my real interest in biology and decided to major in Biomedical Science after series of advanced courses. Hence, my personal experience evident the importance of pre-college courses for incoming students.

Furthermore, a common problem to freshman is how to deal with new classmates in a completely new study environment, and the summer courses can help them to adapt new academic life before the official class. If a freshman cannot get along well with other students at the beginning, he has to counter this frustration in addition to his academic activities. This is a great challenge for a young student. However, taking pre-courses is an opportunity for students to make friends without study pressure. After getting close to other students, they can become study partners and study together. Therefore, the pre-courses are definitely helpful for new students.

In a short word, I can tell from the experience as well as general fact that it is beneficial for incoming students to take summer courses before they getting into college. By gaining this opportunity, they can know what subject they are actually interested in and becoming future major, and find out study partners to study in future. This benefits students and prepares them for better college life.