Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

First, sports activities improve an individual’s health. Since good health is the foundation of almost everything in our lives, from academic to career development. The fit body improves efficiency, keeps you enthusiastic and make you voracious towards work. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About 4 years ago, when I was in my first year of college, I usually got sick when there is a change in weather due to my weak immune system, but after starting exercise I saw good results. My immune system improves a lot and after that, I never missed a class because of poor health. As a result, I got good grades. I think colleges should give equal financial support to sports.

Second, social activities develop skills which you cannot develop by reading books like coöperation, teamwork, confidence, communication to name a few. These skills are not naturally present in a child, they need to be developed from their childhood. For instance, in my last school, about 8 years ago, we used to have social activities every Friday for 2 hours. There we used to play games which will teach you how to develop coöperation, teamwork skills. We generally play games which cannot be completed individually, you need to take help from others to complete, teaches teamwork and coöperation. Sometimes we used to have debate or extempore competition with near-by school’s students which improves my speaking skills and reduces stage fear. When I joined the corporate world, I realized all those skills are very important here.