Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every day we make many decisions that impact our future life. Some groups of people may think that in the past young people were more independent to make their own decisions. However, other groups may take the opposite point. From my vantage point, I firmly believe that young people are freer to decide what they wish from life. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint by discussing two main reasons.

In the first place, teenagers and young adults have more access to a variety of information and sources of knowledge to rely on and make a conclusion about a problem. They can sit in front of a computer and search for anything that they are hesitating to do. We can find much information about how we can accomplish a job or what is the destiny of people who were in the same position that we are now. We can share our ideas and ask our friends and experts what to do and consult them with our problems. In this world that are filled with much information and news, do we need to depend on our parents to make an excellent decision?

On the other hand, young people in the past lacked such ample sources of data. They were surrounded only by a few people that considered as an expert in their towns and in some rare circumstances they were gifted by intelligent parents, which would offer them some advice. They did not know what to do in a harsh time and how they supposed to make a right decision. They were confused with their life, and only a minority of people who contribute their passion and interest to the reading books and university were able to outline their future life and achieve a successful life.

Besides, in the modern-day young people are not forced to follow their parents' way. They are free and independent to choose the way of their life. In the past, young people relied on their parents' career. If a rural kid's father were a constructor, the boy would choose to be a constructor as well. If his father were a carpenter, the safer choice for the children would be the parents' career. They could not choose a painter as a career, even though they had appropriated talent. Besides, the emotional bonds between families were stronger and tighter. The entire goals of children were gathering the most respect from their parents. They even married a girl who was chosen by their parents before. In contrast, young people in the modern-day, leave their family in the age of 18. they rent an independent house far from their parents and start their life without any contact or communication with their parents. They cannot stand the intervention of their parents in their personal life. Young adult's life nowadays is separated from their relatives, and even though this caused many problems in their life, it is inevitable and predictable.

In conclusion, whether by developing the internet and social media or weakening the family relationship, young people are more independent and make their decision free from parents will. They do not consider their parent as a mentor anymore and make their decision alone.