Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in the twenty-first century, where everyone has to work had to support his/her family. Then the question arises that, whether only three days a week is better or five days a week. Some may argue that three days a week is more enjoyable because it may give them additional free days to spend time with family and less stress. However, I believe that five days a week with shorter working hours are more enjoyable than three days a week with longer working hours. There are numerous reasons why I hold confidence on this opinion, and I would explore only a few in the following essay.

To begin with, working five days a week with shorter hours increase the productivity. The employee can finish his work efficiently without getting exhausted. As we all know, it is not possible to work continously for long hours without losing the concentration, and that has a negative impact on the productivity. Therefore it builds the stress and may lead to psychological problems also. For example, recently a study was conducted by an agency, where they have asked the question to the worker about the stress level during long working hours. This study concluded that the workers find it more challenging and stressful during long working hours than short working hour a day.

Secondly, if the employee works for five days, there are more chances of getting a promotion, because the company may prefer such employee who can work more days a week rather than those who are working only for three days a week. As everyone aware that for the managerial or supervisory role can be assigned to someone who is available for most of the time during the week, so chances of professional growth are bright. For instance, I work for five days a week for my multinational firm. One day our company got a project, which is to finish in a short time. So there was a challenge in front of the CEO, to whom to assign it. After considering all the option, he decided that it has to be given it to me rather that my senior colleague as he was working only for three days. So you can see, I was preferred over my senior because I was working more days, that makes the work enjoyable.

Finally, an individual can spend more quality time with the family, if he works for five days with shorter hours. If someone works for three days with extended hours, he may not be able to spend time with his family, because by the time he is back to home his kids and wife will be sleeping. Whereas the person who is working shorter hours a day can spend the evening with his family watching movies, shopping, etc. For example, as I work for less hour a day, I take my kids to movie, restaurants, parks. Last week I celebrated the birthday of my daughter Tiara with all her friends in the evening. If I am working for extended hours a day, I could not have celebrated her birthday. Whereas, my brother, Paryushan, who works only three days a week for long hours could not even attend the party.

In a nutshell, in my opinion, five days a week for shorter hours are more enjoyable as there will be lesser stress in the job with more chances of professional growth and a person can spend quality time with the family. I belive all these things makes the work more enjoyable.